The afghan report, chapter 5.

Matthew: go away.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Andrew: I doubt that you have time for FB, but if you do, GO AWAY! NOW!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Okay, just we knitters here now, right?

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

The afghan progresses apace. I will have to do a bit of frogging, however.

P1000500

This sucker is getting BIG. But do you see the problem?

P1000502

How about now?

P1000503

NOW???

P1000503 w lines

OK, how about now?

Ignore the slight wonkiness that results from laying out a massive piece of knitting on a carpet and not bothering to get it exactly square. The defect I am referring to is, of course, the fact that the latest stripe (at far left) is W-I-D-E-R than the six previous stripes. How did this happen, you ask? Every crosswise stripe is exactly one ball of Berrocco Vintage worsted wide. In order for a stripe to get too wide, I would have to use more than one ball of yarn.

Which is exactly what I did.

If you look very carefully at that dark blue square at lower left, you can see that it starts out (the progress is from right to left in the photo above) darker for a couple-three inches, than becomes the same somewhat brighter shade of blue as the previous dark blue squares. What happened was that I grabbed the wrong ball of dark blue yarn when I started this latest stripe. The lengthwise dark blue stripe uses a dark teal yarn, and the crosswise stripe — the one I am talking about — is supposed to use a deep indigo yarn. Using two colors so similar gives a really nice subtle tweedy effect.

P1000505

When I noticed that I was using the wrong dark blue, I decided not to frog because IRL the difference is barely noticeable, unlike in the above photo. I just switched to the right color and continued knitting.

So there I was last Friday night, knitting merrily along, waiting to finish that current ball of dark blue yarn. But with several inches of the other blue yarn at the beginning of the stripe, clearly that stripe was gonna end up being too wide. Which I finally noticed.

To the frog pond we go. The only question is whether to rip back to make that stripe the right width or to rip out the entire stripe and Make It Completely Right.

Stay tuned…

This entry was posted in afghan, knitting, Wip Wednesday. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The afghan report, chapter 5.

  1. highlyreasonable says:

    I am on tenterhooks here, and making my bet, waiting to see how far you rip. Loving the saga and looking forward to the next chapter!

  2. Carole says:

    I’m guessing you will rip all the way back.

  3. Kim says:

    This is one of those things that the giftee will probably never notice, but drives the maker/gifter crazy. Good luck!

  4. gayle says:

    How far will she go?
    Either way, I can understand…

Leave a Reply

