Ten on Tuesday, the instant karma learning edition.

This week Carole has us thinking about what we would like to learn… if we could do so INSTANTLY! Boy, howdy, what a great topic! Here goes…

Ten Things I Wish I Could Learn Instantly.Ten on Tuesday

  1. HTML and style sheets. I am learning about these slowly. Instantly would be nice.
  2. Network protocols and a whole bunch of other computer stuff. Not that I need it, but a little more knowledge would be nice.
  3. Two-color brioche knit flat. I have a plan and the yarn for it. Now to get out my notes from the Yarnover class and learn it. But instantly? Whee, cast on!
  4. A foreign language or five. French. German. Japanese. Chinese. Italian. Oh, and enough Spanish to be fluent; my high school and college Spanish allows me get some of the gist of written Spanish and to pick out the occasional word in spoken Spanish.
  5. European history. Most of what I know has been picked up through my art history studies and from historical fiction, so it is heavily slanted toward cultural history. A little political history would be good.
  6. American history. I probably have a better grasp than the person on the street, but a more detailed, complete, and nuanced understanding would be better.
  7. Drawing. I have to design things in my head because I am crap at drawing. Having a mental picture is really only the first step, and I get a little jealous when I see other knitters make sketches of what they want to make.
  8. To play the piano well. I had three or four years of piano lessons as a child, but I hated to practice and never got very good. My piano is still in the Minneapolis house. If I had it here and could play well, life would be better.
  9. Music theory. Why not?
  10. Advanced mathematics. Differential and integral calculus killed my goal of being a math major in college. I would still like to understand them — and what comes after — not that it would make an iota of difference in my daily life now.

Edited to add: After looking at some of the other ToT lists, I realized I forgot one thing that I really do want to learn: how to use all the bells and whistles on my camera. It is a point and shoot, but p&s cameras keep getting more features, i.e., more complicated. 

Edited to add redux: I am happy to announce I know how to do a couple-three things on others’ lists: sew, crochet, and work spreadsheets. It is good to remind ourselves of what we already know.

Edited to add ad nauseum: Apparently EVERYONE wants to learn HTML

This entry was posted in Ten on Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ten on Tuesday, the instant karma learning edition.

  1. Carole says:

    Excellent list – wouldn’t it be wunnerful if we really could learn all of this instantly?

  2. Linda says:

    I too want to learn two color brioche knitting! I keep looking at it – but my brain just closes down!

    Linda in VA

  3. Nicole says:

    Oooh, good list. I probably should have done what you did, and added all my languages on one line – I gave them each a separate entry, and it took up half my list without getting through all the languages I’d like to know. 😉

    And I also forgot to add the bells & whistles from my camera. I keep meaning to take a class for that…

  4. highlyreasonable says:

    Such an erudite list! I’ll attend the advanced math classes with you.

  5. Kym says:

    I’m really sad today that instant-learning isn’t A Thing. Because I want to learn All the Things.

  6. Jocelyn says:

    I want to learn how to change a fuse in my car when the cigarette lighter doesn’t work. Byron did it, no problem. I swanned around, not doing that.

  7. gayle says:

    I was always envious of the instant learning on ‘The Matrix’ – complete with muscle memory. I’d put up with a plug in my head in order to have that…

Leave a Reply

