FO Friday.

Lots of little projects to report. I started this post at least a month ago but didn’t get all the photos until last night.

Fingerless gloves!

These are for my friend Kay to match the hat I made for her.
Yarn: Madtosh Merino Twist Light (fingering, 75%/25% merino/nylon), color Chicory.
Needles: US#1.5
Pattern: Pattern? I don’t need no stinkin’ pattern. I have made so damned many fingerless gloves in the past year that I have a basic pattern in my head. These were worked on 48 st; 2×2 rib at cuffs, thumb gusset increases every 3rd row until there were 23 st in the thumb.

IMG_2343
These are for ME, to match my gray fleece fall/spring jacket.
Yarn: Cascade Heritage Silk Paints (fingering, 85%/15% merino/silk) in the creatively named colorway 9810, alternated every 3-5 rows with Knit Picks Stroll Tonal (75%/25% merino/nylon) in Thunderhead.
Needles: Knitter’s Pride Karbonz circ, US#1.5
Pattern: (same as above)

IMG_2350
This pair is for the Friends of the Library craft & bake sale on December 5. Since the timing puts the sale in the lead-up to Christmas, and people might be buying gifts for others, I decided to make some fingerless gloves that were heavy on the pretty and not so much on the practical. Thus, these.

Yarns: The turquoise, light blue, and purple sections are Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool leftovers that have been cluttering up my stash since 2006 when I made this doubleknit scarf for myself. The variegated is Adriafil Knitcol DK leftover from these fingerless gloves.
Needles: Knit Picks Options US#5 circ.
Pattern: (see above) Worked on 44 st, 3×1 rib, thumb gusset increases every other row.

Scarf!

I finished this on the way to Sioux Falls a couple weekends ago. Easy peasy knitting, and I really like the way the garter stitch works with the Zauberball yarn.

Yarn: Schoppel-Wolle Crazy Zauberball (fingering, 75%/25% wool/nylon) in Herbstwind.
Needle: Knit Picks Options US#5 circ.
Pattern: Simple Shawl, a free pattern on Ravelry. Basically, you cast on three stitches, then increase one at the beginning and end of every row and on either side of the center stitch every third row. End result is a very wide, short triangle that makes a dandy scarf. The pattern calls for a lace edging that I, not being a lacy kind of person, omitted.

Socks!

IMG_2358

Another pair of double-stranded socks for me. I have realized that I need many more pairs of these super-thick socks to keep my feet properly warm in winter. I started this pair in Sioux Falls and assumed I would finish them and at least one more pair during our little North Shore vacation. What with the food poisoning and the migraine, I didn’t finish them until we got home 😦

Yarn: One strand of Cascade Heritage Paints (fingering,75%/25% wool/nylon) in colorway 15 Phoenix held together with one strand of some nameless dark red yarn from my stash, probably Knit Picks Essential circa 2006 (fingering, 100% merino).
Needles: Hiya Hiya circs, US#2.5 for the feet and #4 for the legs.
Pattern: Wendy Johnson’s generic toe-up socks worked on 48 st.

More!

Looking back, I see that I have mentioned the gift fingerless gloves and the scarf before. Also in that linked post I showed you a pair of toddler mittens and hat OTN. Even after I finished the hat, there was still lots of yarn left so I made a matching scarf. The entire set sold at the silent auction 🙂

This entry was posted in Fingerless mitts, FO, knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to FO Friday.

  1. gayle says:

    Look at you go!
    I love all the mitts, but the ones for you are my favorites. I’ve always loved the black/gray/red color scheme!
    And the shawl and socks look toasty – which is a very good thing at this time of year. 8)

  2. highlyreasonable says:

    A cornucopia of FO! Kay and the rest of the recipients are lucky people; look how many people you are helping to stay warm this winter!

  3. Kim says:

    Fingerless gloves are IT for me. To knit and to wear.

  4. Kym says:

    Wow! You make me wonder what I’ve been doing with my time. . . Lovely projects!

  5. Melissa says:

    I’m way behind on my reading, but that’s a great looking mitt pattern and you should consider offering it for sale.

Leave a Reply

