My year in books.

Holy crappe, Goodreads tells me that I read 90 books in 2015!

TITLE (bold titles are ones I especially liked) AUTHOR
A Fall From Grace (Charlie Peace, #8) Barnard, Robert
In the Unlikely Event Blume, Judy
Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness Cahalan, Susannah
Did You Ever Have a Family Clegg, Bill
Suspect Crais, Robert
Vanished (Nick Heller, #1) Finder, Joseph
Dark Places Flynn, Gillian
The Hammer of Eden Follett, Ken
Career of Evil (Cormoran Strike, #3) Galbraith, Robert
Gray Mountain Grisham, John
Fates and Furies Groff, Lauren
The Nightingale Hannah, Kristin
Our Souls at Night Haruf, Kent
The Girl on the Train Hawkins, Paula
Human Remains Haynes, Elizabeth
So Much Pretty Hoffman, Cara
Internal Medicine: A Doctor’s Stories Holt, Terrence
The Obituary Writer Hood, Ann
The Bones of You Howells, Debbie
We Have Always Lived in the Castle Jackson, Shirley
The Name of the Star (Shades of London, #1) Johnson, Maureen
Socks from the Toe Up: Essential Techniques and Patterns from Wendy Knits Johnson, Wendy D.
Finders Keepers (Bill Hodges Trilogy, #2) King, Stephen
Revival King, Stephen
Ordinary Grace Krueger, William Kent
The Good Girl Kubica, Mary
The Drowning (Patrik Hedström, #6) Läckberg, Camilla
The Hour I First Believed Lamb, Wally
Defending Jacob Landay, William
Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things Lawson, Jenny
World Gone By (Joe Coughlin, #3) Lehane, Dennis
GBH Lewis, Ted
Bird Box Malerman, Josh
Station Eleven Mandel, Emily St. John
The Children Act McEwan, Ian
Bringing Down the House: The Inside Story of Six M.I.T. Students Who Took Vegas for Millions Mezrich, Ben
Pretty Is Mitchell, Maggie
Big Little Lies Moriarty, Liane
The Husband’s Secret Moriarty, Liane
Lucy Neatby’s Cool Socks Warm Feet Neatby, Lucy
Blood on Snow (Blood on Snow, #1) Nesbø, Jo
Everything I Never Told You Ng, Celeste
The Jesus Cow: A Novel Perry, Michael
Yes Please Poehler, Amy
Hide and Seek (Inspector Rebus, #2) Rankin, Ian
Knots and Crosses (Inspector Rebus, #1) Rankin, Ian
Night Prey (Lucas Davenport, #6) Sandford, John
Mind Prey (Lucas Davenport, #7) Sandford, John
Sudden Prey (Lucas Davenport, #8) Sandford, John
Secret Prey (Lucas Davenport, #9) Sandford, John
Certain Prey (Lucas Davenport, #10) Sandford, John
Easy Prey (Lucas Davenport, #11) Sandford, John
Chosen Prey (Lucas Davenport, #12 Sandford, John
Mortal Prey (Lucas Davenport, #13) Sandford, John
Naked Prey (Lucas Davenport, #14) Sandford, John
Hidden Prey (Lucas Davenport, #15) Sandford, John
Broken Prey (Lucas Davenport, #16) Sandford, John
Invisible Prey (Lucas Davenport, #17) Sandford, John
Phantom Prey (Lucas Davenport, #18) Sandford, John
Wicked Prey (Lucas Davenport, #19) Sandford, John
Storm Prey (Lucas Davenport, #20) Sandford, John
Buried Prey (Lucas Davenport, #21) Sandford, John
Stolen Prey (Lucas Davenport, #22) Sandford, John
Silken Prey (Lucas Davenport, #23) Sandford, John
Field of Prey (Lucas Davenport, #24) Sandford, John
Gathering Prey (Lucas Davenport, #25) Sandford, John
Dark of the Moon (Virgil Flowers, #1) Sandford, John
Heat Lightning (Virgil Flowers, #2) Sandford, John
Rough Country (Virgil Flowers, #3) Sandford, John
Bad Blood (Virgil Flowers, #4) Sandford, John
Shock Wave (Virgil Flowers, #5) Sandford, John
Mad River (Virgil Flowers, #6) Sandford, John
Storm Front (Virgil Flowers, #7) Sandford, John
Deadline (Virgil Flowers, #8) Sandford, John
The Fool’s Run (Kidd & LuEllen, #1) Sandford, John
The Empress File (Kidd & LuEllen, #2) Sandford, John
The Devil’s Code (Kidd & LuEllen, #3) Sandford, John
The Hanged Man’s Song (Kidd & LuEllen, #4) Sandford, John
Old Man’s War (Old Man’s War, #1) Scalzi, John
Astonish Me Shipstead, Maggie
The Kill Artist (Gabriel Allon, #1) Silva, Daniel
Early Warning (Last Hundred Years: A Family Saga, #2) Smiley, Jane
Some Luck (Last Hundred Years: A Family Saga, #1) Smiley, Jane
A Carrion Death (Detective Kubu, #1) Stanley, Michael
The Art of Racing in the Rain Stein, Garth
Girl Waits with Gun Stewart, Amy
Wings Of Fire (Inspector Ian Rutledge, #2) Todd, Charles
Superposition Walton, David
The Writing Class Willett, Jincy
The Gates of Evangeline Young, Hester

I was amazed that I had read that many books, especially since I feel like futzing with my iPad in the evening has cut into my reading time. Also, as I perused the list I saw titles that I didn’t remember. Were some of these perhaps books I started but didn’t bother to finish? But I checked the plot summaries of each of the non-remembered ones, and, yes, I did read that book. That is the most books I have ever read in one year. Like I said, holy crappe.

As you may surmise by scanning the list, I started the year by rereading all of John Sandford’s Lucas Davenport, Virgil Flowers, and Kidd&LuEllen books. The Davenport and Flowers series are some of my favorite mysteries ever, and rereading them all in chronological order was a treat.

I didn’t listen to nearly as many books as would have liked — not enough time in the car, mainly, although that is probably overall a good thing 😉

TITLE (bold title is the best one)

AUTHOR

The Girl in the Spider’s Web Lagercrantz, David
The Ascent of Money : A Financial History of the World Ferguson, Niall
The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay Chabon, Michael
All the Light We Cannot See Doerr, Anthony
The Handmaid’s Tale Atwood, Margaret
The Girl with All the Gifts Carey, M.R.
11/22/63 King, Stephen
This entry was posted in Books, Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My year in books.

  1. highlyreasonable says:

    What a great way to present a great year in books! The Children Act is one of my all-time favorites, and I’ve only read two of Michael Perry’s books so I will have to give The Jesus Cow a try. This is the 4th time this week I’ve come across Brain on Fire, so I think I’ll take the hint and read it. I hope 2016 is another great year in books for you!

  2. Kat with a K says:

    Wow! Just wow. I am humbled by this number! Bravo to you!

  3. Carole says:

    That is a LOT of books! Good for you!

  4. kathy b says:

    You amaze me. That is a ton of reading! Hoorah!

  5. gayle says:

    I was scrolling down through the Sandfords, realizing that a) I had no idea he’d written so many books, and b) I’ve read a couple of the ‘Prey’ books, but have no idea which ones, since the titles are so similar. Perhaps a Sandford binge is in order…
    I’ll be stealing freely from the rest of your list, too, for that matter! 8)

  6. Kym says:

    So many books! I really need to read The Jesus Cow. Just because the title makes me smile every time I read it (which has been often lately). I liked Fates and Furies, too. . .

  7. Ann in NJ says:

    Long time lurker here – I enjoy your links and insight on life. Found you as a knitting blog. I’m thinking of trying toe-up socks (well-versed in top-down on dpns). Would you recommend that book on toe-up socks? Is there one you’d recommend more? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

