One Three words.

one word

I have read any number of posts on various blogs about choosing a word to guide one’s journey through the year. Grace, release, gratitude, humility, mindfulness, etc. All very excellent words but not ones that necessarily speak to me. Also, I tend to suck mightily at following someone else’s plan — KALs, exchanges, I may sign up but I quickly forget. Also, I tend to lag behind everyone else in getting on board in the first place, for example, this one-word thing.

But then I read Jocelyn’s post and her #6 resonated with me.

Avoid the pitfalls of confirmation bias.

This is an election year, and I know I will find myself talking politics. Plus, I am running for county board (again; if I win, this will be my fourth term), so I KNOW I will be talking local politics. Confirmation bias is easy to fall into, and the internet makes it even easier. I only follow Twitterers who lean left, I read blogs of people who seem to have mindsets similar to mine, I avoid Facebookers who harp on religion and carp about immigrants, I gave up my subscription to the Wall Street Journal and substituted one to the Washington Post, etc., etc., etc.

So. In 2016 I shall endeavor to broaden my outlook information intake: avoid confirmtion bias. In the immortal words of Ray Magliozzi (of Car Talk on NPR), What can it hoit?

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous, Politics, national, Polk County politics, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to One Three words.

  1. Carole says:

    It’s an interesting concept and one I’m willing to try and embrace as well.

  2. Kat with a K says:

    I love this! Not saying I could achieve this, but I do love this. I learned long ago that you can’t change any of the people’s minds – ever, but open minds that seek knowledge can grow and change in positive ways! I feel confident that you fall into that category!

  3. highlyreasonable says:

    Those may be the best (and most interesting) one/three words I’ve read about. I had a philosophy teacher in college that told us to defend a position we must understand both sides. Far too often, I’m preemptively convinced that my side is right and I do all the things you list in your penultimate paragraph. Now, if I could only better learn how to have meaningful discussions with the “other side”, where I begin to really understand. They may have to happen over a beer.

  4. Jocelyn says:

    I’m really glad those words resonated with you, and, truly, I hope you find yourself enriched by allowing yourself to be challenged. You are honest and wise to take stock of how carefully you have controlled the voices that reach you. And, clearly: you’re not alone in this!

  5. Melissa says:

    Good luck with the election. I too try to avoid confirmation bias. In something I find listening to the BBC World Service is useful. It’s definitively a different view point especially the folks who live in less advantaged countries.

  6. Kym says:

    Good for you. I struggle with this one. Because I’ve discovered I LIKE confirmation bias. I try to even things out with BBC, which really does offer an interesting perspective.

Leave a Reply

