Ten on Tuesday, the drop everything and read edition.

Today Carole has us thinking about those books that made us want to drop everything and read. My books like that tend to be mysteries — well-written ones that pull me in. Here goes…

Ten Books That Made Me Want To Drop Everything And Read.Ten on Tuesday

  1. Any of John Sanford’s Lucas Davenport books.
  2. Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin. I listened to these on audio (years before the HBO series), and I was always looking for an excuse to put in the earbuds.
  3. Anything by Tana French: In the Woods, The Likeness, Faithful Place, Broken Harbor, the Secret Place.
  4. Pretty much anything by Stephen King.
  5. Ditto Jeffrey Deaver.
  6. Val McDermid’s Tony Hill and Carol Jordan series.
  7. Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty. Not a thriller, per se, but engrossing.

That is far more than ten, so I will quit now.

This entry was posted in Ten on Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ten on Tuesday, the drop everything and read edition.

  1. Kat with a K says:

    I agree with your on George R.R. Martin! I loved the series! Tana French is new to me! I will add those to my list! Thanks and WELCOME BACK you have been missed on Tuesdays!

  2. highlyreasonable says:

    I appreciate your recommendation of GRRM. I haven’t read, listened, or watched any of the series because of the gazillion characters. It may be time for Song of Ice and Fire and some more Tana French.

  3. Carole says:

    I always have to read a Stephan King quickly, too! I haven’t read the George R.R. Martin books because there are SO many and they are SO long. I’ve heard they are great, though.

  4. gayle says:

    I was hoping for new reads, but the only ones I haven’t read (and heartily agree with you) is #6. It’s a place to start!
    (I recommend Tana French to anyone who will stand still long enough for me to tell them ALL ABOUT how wonderful she is!)

  5. k says:

    In The Woods! That one scene! Oh!
    Since I mostly read philosophy or Medieval art history, I will remain silent, because not so gripping.

  6. Kym says:

    Oh, yes. Those are all drop-everything reads! 🙂

  7. I am not a mystery reader but have read a few of Liane Moriarty’s books. She’s always better than I think she will be.

Leave a Reply

