Squarely on target.

Handeyecrafts asked back in December for her readers to make 6″ squares to be sewn into blankets for charities. I am all about charity knitting, and squares, and using up odds and ends of stash, so I joined up. Kim puts out color cues three times a month, but I suck at following the rules. My squares are knit from whatever yarn came to hand.

When I dumped them all out today to photograph for the blog, I realized they fall into two broad color categories.

P1000886

There are the purples and browns. And a red one.

P1000884

And there are the blue and green ones.

For those of you counting along at home, that there is 29 squares, plus I found one later after the photo session was done. That’s 30 squares total. I could conceivably knit another 30 by year-end, although I promise nothing.

Now, clearly these are not blocked nor ends woven in. I am counting on blocking to even out slight size differences and quirky stitches. I left long ends, at least 12″, for Kim to use to sew the squares together. Some squares are done with two strands of sock yarn on US#6 needles and others are worsted weight on US#7s. That shit will block right out, correct? CORRECT?

Back to the knitting…

 

This entry was posted in Community knitting, knitting, Squares. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Squarely on target.

  1. Kat with a K says:

    Absolutely! And it will be lovely! Or else! 🙂

  2. highlyreasonable says:

    Yup, correct. Nice job, you non-rule-following rebel!

  3. Kym says:

    Rules? Who needs ’em?! Lovely squares. And hell, yeah! They’ll block.

  4. gayle says:

    You’ll single-handedly have enough squares for a blanket at this rate. Go, Kat, go!

  5. Soxanne says:

    Correct! Good for you (I kinda suck at charity knitting so I do other stuff).

Leave a Reply

