Yes, there was Yarnover.

I went to Yarnover a couple few weeks ago. No car-related incidents this time ::sigh of relief::  Oh, wait, I didn’t tell you about what happened last year. I drove into Minneapolis on the Friday to attend the instructors’ dinner; great time, sat next to Patty Lyons, heard Amy Herzog speak, hung out with my old knitting group. Spent the night at Younger Son’s apartment. But when I left to  drive to the Big Event on Saturday morning, my car — actually, Smokey’s car — wouldn’t start. I ended up taking YS’s car but left my yarn for the classes in Smokey’s; thus, the need for the yarn purchases. Smokey had to drive in to Minneapolis that night, but he couldn’t fix the car; it had to be towed back to Wisconsin to Lennie The Mechanic.

Anyway.

Once again I drove in on the Friday to attend the instructors’ dinner. Whichever instuctor was supposed to be at our table, wasn’t. But I sat with a couple friends (Hi, soxanne and Rosemary!) and we all ate fabulous Italian food and listened to Meg Swanson talk about her life in knitting.

On Saturday morning I took a class called Colorful Cables from Melissa Leapman, which turned out to be intarsia-based. Duh. It was fun — mainly because she is so entertaining. Whether I will ever actually knit intarsia cables is another matter.

P1000904

They are extremely impressive, however.

In the afternoon I took an intermediate brioche class from Mercedes Tarasovich. Last year I took her beginning brioche class and wanted to learn more. Which I did. Brioche is just so darned cool. It is not difficult, although I am still finding it tough to fix the inevitable screw-up.

P1000879.jpg

A sample swatch of two-color brioche done flat.

Since my internal goal is to use up my stash, I attempted not to buy any yarn. Fail.

But I only bought two skeins.

P1000887.jpg

Scholler-Wolle Crazy Zauberball in Flussbett. I am thinking of doing a Jared Flood-type striped scarf with it, perhaps in combination with another skein of Zauberball. Or not. Maybe socks. Who knows?

modeknit

P1000878

I am showing you two photos because it is difficult to capture the right amount of saturation in the colors. The true color is somewhere between these two — as dark as the first but as subtle as the second.

This is 232 yards of 50/50 superwash merino/silk blend in DK weight dyed by Annie Modesitt. Colorway is ‘Jardin de Provence,’ which does not seem to exist on the linked website. I think this may be destined to be a cowl.

This entry was posted in Knitting classes, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yes, there was Yarnover.

  1. Kat with a K says:

    Lennie The Mechanic, of course! I have to tell you I laughed out loud reading that! And, I taught an intarsia class back in the day, sans cables. If you look at my Ravelry thread you will see how intarsia fills my knitting life… not. Although This sweater by Julia Farwell-Clay has me considering it again, especially since her mini-lesson on Intarsia in the round on YouTube. http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/winter-traveller (link for intarsia in the round in the pattern notes!)

    I am fascinated with Brioche and yours looks great! And, I would have fallen off the yarn wagon for those yarns too! Beautiful colors!!

  2. Chris says:

    The “they are extremely impressive” picture doesn’t load. 😦

    Sounds like you had a good weekend! Your Brioche is very cool looking. And I love that second yarn you got.

  3. highlyreasonable says:

    I love how so many of your adventures turn into … well, adventures! I’m glad there was no car drama, and think those yarns just had to be purchased. They’re each beautiful in their own way.

  4. gayle says:

    Those yarns are really irresistible…
    Brioche is absolutely fascinating, isn’t it? I’ve got a Marchant book and some yarn that I’m going to play with, as soon as I can make a decision which project to do first! (Too many fabulous choices…)

Leave a Reply

