What I did on my (first couple weeks of) summer [vacation*].

* Being retired, I do not have a summer vacation per se.

Let’s do bullets, m’kay?

  • Helped throw together a Russ Feingold event on the Memorial Day weekend. We got only about a week’s notice from the Feingold campaign, so I was very proud of my group. We secured a venue, advertised in three local papers, put up flyers around the county, and solicited coffee and cookies from members. Attendance was ~100, which was fabulous given the rural — i.e., sparcely populated — nature of this area and the fact it happened in the middle of a holiday weekend.
  • Adopted a new dog (more on this another time).
  • Her new name is Milady, and she is a bundle of love who never met anyone she didn’t like.
  • Secured a free printer/scanner for our campaign office.
  • Publicized (but not terribly well) the garage sale event; mainly I solicited donations.
  • Sat at our campaign office for three days accepting said donations.

    IMG_2589.jpg

    The first day’s donations.

  • Spent one of those days supervising volunteers who priced everything.
  • Staffed the cashier’s table for the three days of the sale…
  • …during the hottest weather we have had so far this year.
  • 90 degrees on day 2 and 3.
  • I had plenty of company at the table, plus we set up a large fan to blow on us. It was bearable.
  • A line of thunderstorms stretching from Lake Superior to South Dakota moved through on Friday afternoon.
  • A minor miracle: the tiny break in that 400+ mile line passed right over the garage sale.
  • We got only a few drops of rain.
  • ::cheers::
  • We made [what for us is] a ton of money.
  • ::more cheers::
  • Yarnbombed the bike rack outside my library (photos coming soon to a blog near you).
  • Various meetings, both formal and informal.
  • Took a community ed class on wild mushroom identification.
  • Not sure I learned enough to reliably pick wild mushrooms, although with a bit of review I think I could find and choose chicken of the woods mushrooms.
  • Not sure when I will have time to do that, however
  • Piloted the vintage car belonging to our candidate for state assembly in a local parade.
    IMG_2594.jpg
  • Answered questions from the parade-watchers: What year is that?
  • For those of you counting at home, it is a 1959 Chevy Biscayne. 

    IMG_2595

    View from the driver’s seat.

    IMG_2600

    Vintage dashboard.

  • Helped at a mailing party for the above candidate.
  • Supervised our new summer helper as he weeded my garden and planted ten free hostas.

This week’s agenda includes some knitting, some laundry, and some lazing about. Let the lazing begin!

This entry was posted in Animals, Libraries, Milady, Polk County politics. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What I did on my (first couple weeks of) summer [vacation*].

  1. Kat with a K says:

    I am exhausted reading this! But, I am eager to meet Milady!

  2. highlyreasonable says:

    This does sound like quite the civic-minded and busy couple weeks of vacation, so I agree – let the lazing begin!

  3. Kym says:

    I sort of figured you’d make good use of your “free” time . . . now that you’ve retired! 🙂 Love that car!

  4. gayle says:

    Oh, my goodness! I am awed at your retiredness. Mine is not nearly so busy…
    Wanna see the new dog!

  5. Pingback: Ten on Tuesday: done and to be done. | kmkat & her kneedles

Leave a Reply

