What I have been doing when I should have been working on UFOs.

P1010017

The glamour shot.

“I’m ready for my close-up, Mr. DeMille…”

Yes, I have been knitting dishcloths when I should have been working on UFOs.

Should, schmould, whatever. 

I wanted to be able to grab a clean dishcloth every day during the summer when they get stinky so fast. So shoot me.

On a positive note, I took a close look at a pair of 90%-done, unblogged slippers that I lost interest in, and decided that, contrary to my earlier opinion, they do not look weird. I can now happily spend one evening knitting the toe of the second one, weaving in the ends, and sticking a fork in them. (Not mention freeing up a needle!)

On the afghan front — a front that stretches from Gibralter to Volgograd, two large afghans being the [peaceful] rough equivalent of several world wars — I examined the plaid one under a really good light and decided that, contrary to my earlier opinion, I had not mixed up the two dark-ish blue yarns. It is now good to continue and has again taken up residence next to my knitting chair. Only one-third of that one left to go. I have been picking up the other one occasionally; it now has another 1-1/4 *logs* completed since the linked photo was taken. There is still a remote possibility I could finish them both by Christmas 2016.

Moral: tis a good thing to re-examine one’s former opinions occasionally.

This entry was posted in afghan, knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What I have been doing when I should have been working on UFOs.

  1. Kat with a K says:

    I love the dishcloths! And, that is an excellent idea – they do get nasty fast in this weather! And, Go YOU on the Afgan War!!

  2. gayle says:

    Hurray for afghan progress! Best of luck on that finish date!
    I knit a dishcloth recently, but haven’t put it to use yet. First I have to get over the ‘what a pretty color this is!’-ness so I can bear to get it dirty…

  3. highlyreasonable says:

    That is an excellent moral and I completely understand about the dishcloths. I’ve been plodding along on UFOs, but two days ago I was compelled to buy some dishcloth cotton on an impulse purchase. I haven’t even cast on nor knit a bunch like you have, but there is something very satisfying about having plenty of fresh dishcloths. I do like your afghan war far better than the non-peaceful one.

  4. Mary Jo says:

    I did some dishcloths for the same reason. I found a new favorite pattern: Nai-Nai’s Favorite, http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/nai-nais-favorite I think it looks great in a smoother cotton than Sugar’n Cream. I like I Love This Cotton! from Hobby Lobby. You are a wonderful mother to knit afghans for your sons in the heat.

  5. KSD says:

    If I ever get going on dishcloths, I find it very hard to move to something else. I suppose it’s good that something so practical is also so addictive.

  6. k says:

    I suppose an afghan is actually a lesser blanket. I’ve been daunted by the thought of a blanket, but an afghan is doable. I have done that.
    I have a stash of dishcloth stuff; favorite dishcloth needles, a selection of yarn. I should put it someplace where I can get to it quickly.

  7. kathy b says:

    Nothing more satisfying than a dishcloth! I tend to be too hard on my knitting too and then I reexamine and wonder, what was I thinking? THis is lovely in its unique way!

Leave a Reply

