Unsure how to go forward.

I am a bit torn about the blog today, and probably for a few more days. Do I write about what is in my head and heart and in yours, too? Or do I resume knit blogging as though life is normal again?

No. As soon as I typed that previous sentence I knew that life is NOT normal again. Life for me may go one more-or-less as usual, but for anyone who is not a straight white Christian male, life has become very scary.

In my own largely straight white Christian community, what can I do to support those who do not have my luxury? I shall do what I can. Yesterday I set up monthly donations to the ACLU and the Southern Poverty Law Center, both of which fight hate and discrimination and fight for the rights of everyone. Oh, I have contributed before but this is different; on Tuesday half the voters in the US chose a racist narcissistic misogynist to lead our county. Now we need the efforts of those rights organizations more than ever. Today I shall set up a monthly donation to Planned Parenthood, which is probably looking at losing a bunch of funding.

I am lucky to be able to help in this way. It does not feel like enough, though; I must force myself to speak up when others say terrible things, even in jest. I must force myself out of my comfort zone when necessary. Will I do it? I hope I can count on myself not to chicken out. There are people who are and will be suffering because of what happened on Tuesday. they deserve my support.

There is absolutely nothing good about how the election turned out in my county or my state. Our natural beauty is at risk because the pro-business candidates won. Wisconsin is bought and paid for. Big Money owns the governor, both houses of the legislature, and the Supreme Court; we have no checks nor balances here. Given the outcome of the national elections, we the people have lost the checks and balances in Washington, too; a crazy man in the White House, both houses of Congress ruled by his party, and a 4-4 Supreme Court waiting the the crazy man to appoint the ninth justice.

A blog post from a local teacher who is more eloquent and thoughtful than I.

What does the future hold?

This? or This?

Edited to add: Here’s a photo of smiling Milady to brighten your day.

IMG_2621

This entry was posted in Politics, national, Polk County politics, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Unsure how to go forward.

  1. ninlouise says:

    Thank you for this. I’m not ready to accept what has happened. I appreciate your thoughts and what you are doing.

  2. highlyreasonable says:

    I’ve been dithering about what action to take, but donating my yarn and book budget for the remainder of the year to Planned Parenthood is a start. I have just begun to speak up, trying desperately to not speak with hate and malicemyself, especially because so many of the comments are coming from my own family. What the he** were people thinking? More smiling Milady, please.

  3. Carole says:

    Yes, all of this. I’m trying to buck up and feel some hope but it’s hard right now.

  4. Kat with a K says:

    I made the decision today that I will not be silent. I will, like you support the ACLU as I am able. And, I am going to make an effort – even if it is out of my way – to support minority/LGBTA owned businesses. That way I am supporting those in my community. Sad and scary times indeed.

  5. Pingback: Stumbling Over Chaos :: Linkity says goodbye to Leonard

  6. mlegan says:

    I am barely able to function

  7. gayle says:

    I’m gutted. I keep sitting down to the computer to write a blog post, and I just don’t have any words.

Leave a Reply

