Bookin’ it through 2016.

Shelf cloud.jpg

Goodreads tells me I read 72 books in 2016, down from 90 in 2015. On the other hand, I listened to 11 audiobooks,  up from 7 in 2015; I am pretty sure that 2015 number is understated because I get a new audiobook from Audible.com every month, and I almost always finish them. The only reason that 2016 isn’t 12 is because I listened to two really long books, Duty by William Gates and The Fireman by Joe Hill (only about 1/4 of the way through that one).

So, here is the list of dead soldi–, er, books read.

Blessed Are the Dead (Gabriella Giovanni Mystery #1) Belcamino, Kristi
Under the Harrow Berry, Flynn
The Whites Brandt, Harry
The Weird Sisters Brown, Eleanor
All Things Cease to Appear Brundage, Elizabeth
A Dog’s Journey (A Dog’s Purpose, #2) Cameron, W. Bruce
Notorious RBG: The Life and Times of Ruth Bader Ginsburg Carmon, Irin
Raven Black (Shetland Island, #1) Cleeves, Ann
Walk Two Moons Creech, Sharon
The Life We Bury Eskens, Allen
Immoral (Jonathan Stride, #1) Freeman, Brian
In The Dark (Jonathan Stride, #4) Freeman, Brian
Season of Fear (Cab Bolton, #2) Freeman, Brian
Stalked (Jonathan Stride, #3) Freeman, Brian
Stripped (Jonathan Stride, #2) Freeman, Brian
The Bone House (Cab Bolton, #1) Freeman, Brian
The Burying Place (Jonathan Stride, #5) Freeman, Brian
The Cold Nowhere (Jonathan Stride, #6) Freeman, Brian
Turn to Stone (Jonathan Stride, #5.6) Freeman, Brian
Broken Harbor (Dublin Murder Squad, #4) French, Tana
The Secret Place (Dublin Murder Squad, #5) French, Tana
The Trespasser (Dublin Murder Squad, #6) French, Tana
Marley and Me: Life and Love With the World’s Worst Dog Grogan, John
Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, #1) Harris, Charlaine
The Pearl That Broke Its Shell Hashimi, Nadia
Splinters of Light Herron, Rachael
Five Presidents: My Extraordinary Journey with Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, and Ford Hill, Clint
A Hard Ticket Home (Mac McKenzie, #1) Housewright, David
Dead Angler (A Loon Lake Mystery, #1) Houston, Victoria
The Loney Hurley, Andrew Michael
The Murderer’s Daughter Kellerman, Jonathan
End of Watch (Bill Hodges Trilogy, #3) King, Stephen
The Bazaar of Bad Dreams King, Stephen
Blood Hollow (Cork O’Connor, #4) Krueger, William Kent
Boundary Waters (Cork O’Connor, #2) Krueger, William Kent
Copper River (Cork O’Connor, #6) Krueger, William Kent
Iron Lake (Cork O’Connor, #1) Krueger, William Kent
Mercy Falls (Cork O’Connor, #5) Krueger, William Kent
Thunder Bay (Cork O’Connor, #7) Krueger, William Kent
Vermilion Drift (Cork O’Connor, #10) Krueger, William Kent
Her Lane, Harriet
The Watcher in the Wall (Stevens & Windermere, #5) Laukkanen, Owen
Viking Knits and Ancient Ornaments: Interlace Patterns from Around the World in Modern Knitwear Lavold, Elsebeth
The Lynching: The Epic Courtroom Battle That Brought Down the Klan Leamer, Laurence
Weekends with Daisy Luttrell, Sharron Kahn
Knitting Brioche: The Essential Guide to the Brioche Stitch Marchant, Nancy
The Real Doctor Will See You Shortly: A Physician’s First Year McCarthy, Matt
Beneath the Bleeding (Tony Hill & Carol Jordan, #5) McDermid, Val
Cross and Burn (Tony Hill & Carol Jordan, #8) McDermid, Val
Deadline For Murder (Lindsay Gordon, #3) McDermid, Val
Fever of the Bone (Tony Hill & Carol Jordan, #6) McDermid, Val
Splinter the Silence (Tony Hill & Carol Jordan, #9) McDermid, Val
The Last Temptation (Tony Hill & Carol Jordan, #3) McDermid, Val
The Retribution (Tony Hill & Carol Jordan, #7) McDermid, Val
The Torment of Others (Tony Hill & Carol Jordan, #4) McDermid, Val
Nutshell McEwan, Ian
Giant George: Life with the World’s Biggest Dog Nasser, Dave
Voytek the Soldier Bear: Niedzwiedz Zolnierz O Imieniu Wojtek Paulin, Garry
A Fatal Grace (Chief Inspector Armand Gamache, #2) Penny, Louise
Still Life Penny, Louise
The Summer of the Bear Pollen, Bella
Good Dog. Stay. Quindlen, Anna
Lessons from Tara: Life Advice from the World’s Most Brilliant Dog Rosenfelt, David
The Improbability of Love Rothschild, Hannah
Eleanor & Park Rowell, Rainbow
Dear Committee Members Schumacher, Julie
The Secret Wisdom of the Earth Scotton, Christopher
Missing, Presumed Steiner, Susie
Only the Dead Sundstøl, Vidar
The Land of Dreams Sundstøl, Vidar
The Ravens Sundstøl, Vidar
A Spool of Blue Thread Tyler, Anne
Underground Airlines Winters, Ben H.

You will notice several series in there. I occasionally go back and re-read all the mysteries in a series in order. This year I indulged in a Val McDermid and a William Kent Kruger series; not quite done with that second one yet. I tried Louise Penny’s Inspector Gamache series but got bored with them. And I read a lot of dog books just for fun.

As I look back over that list, there are any number of the books that I do not remember. I read for escapism so that is not surprising. The ones I do remember:

  • The Notorious RBG (I blogged about that one)
  • The Life We Bury
  • The Lynching (about the Southern Poverty Law Center)
  • The Nutshell
  • Eleanor & Park
  • Dear Committee Members
  • Missing, Presumed

Goodreads also tells me I started but didn’t finish 29 books (life is too short to read something I do not find interesting and/or well-written or which doesn’t suit my whim).

Audiobooks listened to:

The Dispatcher Scalzi, John
Duty: Memoirs of a Secretary at War Gates, Robert M.
Dark Matter Crouch, Blake
American Heiress: The Wild Saga of the Kidnapping, Crimes, and Trial of Patty Hearst Toobin, Jeffrey
Drunken Fireworks King, Stephen
Before the Fall Hawley, Noah
The Fold Clines, Peter
Game (Jasper Dent, #1) Lyga, Barry
I Hunt Killers (Jasper Dent, #2) Lyga, Barry
14 Clines, Peter
Pacific: Siilcon Chips and Surfboards, Coral Reefs and Atom Bombs, Brutal Dictators, Facing Empires, and the Coming Collision of the World’s Superpowers Winchester, Simon

Of these I  would recommend The Dispatcher (the story of good, but I recommend it because it is read by Zachary Quinto, who has a voice I would listen to forever — pure velvet and chocolate); Duty, if you are interested in recent US and world history; and Pacific, simply because it contained such a breadth of information.

And now it is 2017 — time for more reading!

This entry was posted in Books, Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bookin’ it through 2016.

  1. Kat with a K says:

    This is an impressive list! I have added The Dispatcher to my queue for your narration recommendation!

  2. Kym says:

    You’re right . . . life is just too short to finish books that aren’t quite makin’ it! Happy reading in 2017!

  3. gayle says:

    I’m noting your series reads, for my own reading list. 8) (We won’t talk about how many books I currently have in my Kindles and on my bookshelves)
    I’ve been listening to more audiobooks in the last year, too, especially while I’m sewing. It’s really fun to have someone read me a story, plus I’m using this as an opportunity to catch up on classics I never read (and figure I still won’t sit down to read.) I LOVED Pride and Prejudice; Wuthering Heights, not so much; Dracula was a re-read, but more enjoyable heard. Pearl Buck’s The Good Earth is next up, and I think some Willa Cather after that. I’ve also been listening to more current stuff (Phrynne Fisher is a hoot!) and I enjoyed The Dispatcher, too.

  4. soxanne says:

    I have yet to pick up my old (higher) pace of reading. Mostly I listen to audio books because otherwise I would never go to the Y 😉

Leave a Reply

