Knitter up! And, no good deed goes unpunished.

I am pleased to report that time and [nearly] a week of not knitting has largely cleared up my thumb joint issue.

Can I get a big HURRAH!

Although I had declared myself to be a non-knitter for a week, I held out for only four days. Thank FSM, that seemed to be enough to heal most of the injury. I have been happily knitting ever since. There is still a little residual pain, but as long as I am not knitting something stupid, like the mittens below, it continues to improve.

During the hiatus I thought about what might have caused this pain and suffering. It did not take long to identify the culprit(s):

In particular, the mittens on the right, those nasty ones that didn’t match each other. 

These are three of the items I knit for the local warm clothing drive in December. The yarn was O-Wool Balance Bulky, a 50/50 wool/cotton blend, and we all know what that implies: less elasticity than a 100% wool yarn. This was not a problem in the hat and scarf, which I knit on US#10-1/2 and US#11 needles, respectively. But I wanted the mittens to be dense and warm, so I went with a smaller needle — US#9, maybe? I didn’t Ravel the mittens because I was so ashamed of them; thus, no record of the needle size.

Anyway, knitting a bulky, non-elastic yarn on US#9s was apparently just too damn much for my dainty paws, and my thumb joint paid the price.

Lesson learned (I hope).

This entry was posted in FO, hats, knitting, Mittens, Rants, various, Scarves, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Knitter up! And, no good deed goes unpunished.

  1. Deb Winslow says:

    Glad you’re doing better. I don’t like to knit with cotton for the same reason. Makes my hands hurt.

  2. k says:

    Oy, that will do it. I am on permanent suspension for any needles over sz. 7, or maybe 8. (But rules is rules, and they’s made to be broken.)
    I just pulled out a pair of socks that had been returned to the yarn box. I knew I didn’t like them at all, but I didn’t realize that one was 1 1/2″ short. Oops. And we won’t talk about the mittens I currently wear with my red coat.

  3. gayle says:

    Big HURRAH!
    (I think the largest needle I’ve used in years is a size 6. Back when I was doing a lot of felted knitting, I was using 10’s, which I complained was like knitting with telephone poles.)
    The only cotton I’ve ever knit was a dishcloth I made last summer, but it was decidedly NOT dense knitting. I can’t even imagine the strain of trying to knit bulky cotton densely – no wonder your thumb gave you the finger…

  4. KSD says:

    Yikes! So sorry. But you can’t tell from the FOs that you were knitting hurt.

Leave a Reply

