FO Friday Thursday.

A few weeks ago I had to attend a meeting in a city 200 miles away. Not wanting to have to rise at oh-dark-thirty to get there by the 10:00 start time, I made the drive the previous day and left early enough to get there before dark. This had the added benefit of allowing me to check out a yarn shop there.

Screen Shot 2017-01-28 at 12.03.40 PM.png

Photo cheerfully lifted from the shop’s website.

The Wisconsin Wool Exchange specializes “..[in] locally produced and hand-dyed wool and fiber.” How could I pass up such a shop, even though my stash is definitely at S.A.B.L.E. level? And did I find exactly the yarn I needed? Why, yes, I did!

IMG_0272.jpg

I have had a strong hankering (see what I did there?) for a turquoise-ish hat and scarf to coordinate with these fingerless gloves. I had once made such a hat and scarf, but the hat was ::ahem:: rather less than flattering on me. They were donated to last year’s warm clothing drive after one season of wear.

I started the scarf right away that same night and finished it last Friday.

IMG_0291.jpg

Yarn: Kimmet Croft Softie DK (75/25 merino/angora; 4 oz skein, 450 yards)*
Needles: Addi Turbo US#7
Pattern: 2×2 rib

img_0290

The mottling of the yarn made a nice argyle pattern on one end. (Color is more accurate in first photo.)

Kimmet Croft (Wisconsin Rapids, WI) sells on Etsy if you are interested.

I relied on my memory to tell me that this yarn was exactly the color I needed to coordinate with a skein of fingering weight merino for a Sockhead hat.

P1010157 (2).jpg

Close enough. (Damn, it is hard to get this color to show accurately.)

* Focus con color instead of reading the label meant that I did not notice that this was DK weight, not the worsted weight I thought/assumed. This meant that the scarf is not quite as long as I would like. But it is long enough to loop around my neck and keep it warm, which is what we are all going for when we knit a scarf, right?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to FO Friday Thursday.

  1. Kat with a K says:

    I love when pooling looks planned!

  2. gayle says:

    That argyle is a fun effect! Love all your accessorizing!

  3. Kym says:

    Perfect! It’s such a treat when pooling works FOR you (instead of against you). Love the color!

  4. k says:

    Blues suck. Believe me, I’ve tried. What’s the hat going to be? I love the criss-crossy thing. Between that and the color, it makes me think of the Tardis.

  5. k says:

    “Finished, and they are FABULOUS! Clearly, I am a genius 😉 ” Why yes, yes you are 😉

Leave a Reply

