Things that make me say, “Hmm…”

yarn shop.jpg

How do yarn shops, awash in scores of skeins of wool yarn, deal with moths? (Asking for a friend.)

* * * * *

hexipuffs.jpg

We have all seen the hexipuff blankets bouncing around the interwebz. Whenever I see someone making the puffs, I think Won’t that blanket be like a sheet of stiff foam rubber? How can it drape properly? Any hexipuff knitters out there to answer my question?

* * * * *

“I don’t check out men on the street. I check out women. I am always checking out women because I love stories, and women in clothes tell stories. For years I watched other women to learn how I might someday be a woman with a story.”

from Women in Clothes by Sheila Heti, via fringeassociation.com

* * * * *

angora

 

I have a friend who has a black and white knit hat where the white is angora yarn. And I feel the need to pet her head every time I see the hat.

I may need to acquire a skein of angora…

* * * * *

 

Nicknames:

  • King Cheeto von Tiny Hands.
  • tRUMP
  • The Cheeto Bandito
This entry was posted in afghan, knitting, Rants, various, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Things that make me say, “Hmm…”

  1. Chris says:

    Asking for a friend?? Hmm.

  2. Chris says:

    LOL – just noticed my nickname for the Noisy Squash is on your list. 😀 Another good one is Drumpf (I believe that’s the family’s original last name).

  3. gayle says:

    Oi! Now I’m looking avidly (possibly compulsively) at hexipuffs. *sigh*

  4. Kat with a K says:

    Asking for a friend? Oy vey – Kathleen Dames just went through Moth Trauma and she shared about it in her Ravelry Group.

    Oh and Hair Hitler…

  5. k says:

    Sentient Yam.
    I’ve had moths. They seem to localize in specific yarns, and specific colors in specific yarns. I pitch those yarns and move on.

  6. Oh I love some angora. I have some….it is partially knitted into fingerless mitts. Im thinking it should be a fuzzy hat….so it sits

  7. Vicki says:

    I think it depends on how the hexipuffs are stuffed… mine aren’t stuffed at all, so I believe (if ever I sew it all together) that it will drape OK.

Leave a Reply

