To the frog pond, part 2.

While I found myself in a frogging mood, I unraveled another thing that had been a WIP since at least November 2014.

IMG_1308

I found this photo from January 2015, when I added the project to Ravelry.

IMG_0364

How it looked pre-frogging.

IMG_0367 (1)

Why it was being frogged.

It is a little hard to tell from the photo, but the edge of the shawl was w-a-y tight. That is a perennial problem with crescent-shaped shawls, but it was even worse with this one because that variegated yarn had absolutely zero elasticity. The light and dark gray-blue are both Knit Picks Gloss fingering (70/30 merino/silk); the variegated is a handspun wool/mohair blend (my memory tells me that it had some llama in it, too (the spinner does have llamas) but Ravelry disagrees).

There are ways to combat that excessive tightness at the edge, primarily by doing a yarnover one stitch in from the edge, then dropping it on the next row;  that adds a few extra millimeters of yarn at the edge every other row. I tried that, but it wasn’t enough — the edge was still very, very tight.

The real problem, I think, was that I was having so much trouble keeping track of which row of the pattern I was on. Anyway, I decided there was little to no chance I would ever finish this, so to the frog pond it went.

IMG_0371

I do really like those three colors of yarn together, so I shall have to find another pattern.

This entry was posted in Color affection, knitting, Shawls. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to To the frog pond, part 2.

  1. Kym says:

    It’s so much better when we can just . . . let those projects go! Those colors are beautiful together, and I’m sure you’ll find a better project for them to live in happy harmony together. XO

  2. Kat with a K says:

    I have found a fix to that tight edge issue – do a yarn over at the beginning of the row, so YO, knit to the end of the row. On the row back, knit until last 2 stitches (the last stitch and the YO). Knit one and drop the YO – this gives you a very elastic edge which helps those crescent shaped shawls tremendously

  3. gayle says:

    Those yarns really play well together! I hope you find the perfect pattern soon so you can enjoy them properly.

  4. Melissa says:

    Beautiful colors. Can’t wait to see what it becomes.

Leave a Reply

