This week’s knitting.*

IMG_0368

Another pair of double-thick socks!

Yarns: Zwerger Garn Opal Schafpate ‘8903 Silberdistel‘ and Kollage Yarns Sock-a-licious 7803.
Needles: US#2-1/2  (foot and ankle) and US#4 (leg).
Pattern: Wendy’s Generic Toe-Up Sock.

Note that the legs are done in 1×1 ribbing. That is slower to knit, but I recently realized that I needed some double-thick socks with ribbed legs. Last fall I bought a smock-type dress in dark blue-gray heavy cotton, which I wear with tights and ankle boots (mine are almost identical to these, same brand, but not nearly as tall). Because me feet tend to get cold, I also wear a pair of coordinating heavy socks folded down over the boot tops. That means that what is exposed is reverse stockinette, and that offends me. Hence, ribbed and reversible lags.

o.m.g. brain flash! Wear the totally stockinette socks inside out = problem solved!

You know how sometimes all you need to do is verbalize a question or problem and it solves itself? That’s what just happened. Thank you for your support 🙂

 

*Full disclosure: I started these socks weeks? months? ago, but I got really sick of them hanging around, so I spent one evening of TV-watching last week to finish the darned things.

This entry was posted in knitting, Socks, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to This week’s knitting.*

  1. Kym says:

    I love seeing your brain at work! 🙂
    (Nice socks.)

  2. gayle says:

    Echoing what Kym said.
    (Both parts.)

  3. Kat with a K says:

    Your brain… brilliant!

  4. mlegan says:

    Offended by reverse stockinette! Ha ha

  5. k says:

    I understand. This has been the basis of so many emails that never get sent.

  6. gorgeous colorway and a fantastic way to wear the socks, inside out. so very smart!

Leave a Reply

