What I have been listening to.

Siddhartha Mukherjee writes really good books about medical stuff. I listened to Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer a couple years ago and loved it. The Gene was also intriguing; it traced the history of genetics, mostly starting with Mendel but with also references to the Romans, to the present day, including gene splicing and CRISPR and GMO.

The Nix was entertaining. Light and funny and entertaining.

My analog reading has been kinda stalled. I am re-reading P.J.Tracy’s Monkeewrench series and am waiting for the latest one. In the meantime Gayle turned me on the books by Howard Frank Mosher. I started one and found it well-written but somehow had trouble picking it up again after the first night. I think I’ll try a shorter one; maybe it was that book’s length that intimidated me (although a good long book has never frightened me before.

In the meantime. I started American War by Omar El Akkad. It is set in the late 21st century after the second American Civil War and grabbed me right away.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. mlegan says:

    Second sighting in as many day of The Nix. Must mean I should read it.

  2. Kat with a K says:

    I loved The Nix! And, thank you for the new to me books by P.J Tracy and Howard Frank Mosher!

Leave a Reply

