A little domesticated spring.

P1010262

Once again, taken a couple weeks ago. I had lots of daffs blooming and it was glorious. Thank you, Molly The Teenage Helper, for planting them for me back in 2015.

P1010272

Those wild violets I showed you on Sunday? They have numerous cousins volunteering in the garden, much to my delight.

P1010267

I got some of this from the leftovers of the garage sale I ran last June. I recognize it, but for the life of me I cannot remember the name. ::ahem, senior moment:: A little help from my gardening friends, please?

P1010273

Earlier this spring I saw some bleeding heart at a nursery and thought, “Oh yeah, I should plant some of that later.” And then this appeared in my garden. I have no memory of buying it nor planting it, although I do have a vague memory of wanting it last year. ::ahem, senior moment redux::

This entry was posted in Antler Lake, Gardening, Spring. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A little domesticated spring.

  1. highlyreasonable says:

    I think the purple-blooming plant might be Lamium, a great ground cover for shade. It’s also known as dead nettles, but with none of the regular nettles skin irritation. Lovely domesticated spring you’ve got there!

  2. gayle says:

    At last!
    I like that purple mystery flower. I had a lamium years ago, but i don’t remember what it looked like, so can’t help.

  3. Kym says:

    Lovely! The purple plant is lamium – or spotted dead nettle. It’s a great ground cover, but can be quite (ahem) vigorous once it gets established, so make sure it behaves. 🙂 The ground violets? I had the same thought when they “volunteered” in my garden a few years ago (oh, aren’t they delightful). They are not delightful. The are invasive and will spread like wildfire and take over your garden faster than the lamium. Dig them out, cute as they are. . . (They’re great in fields you don’t care much about — but not so much where you’re actually trying to encourage flowers you WANT.)

  4. Kat with a K says:

    Beautiful! And, I second Kym on the ground violets – they are pretty but so invasive!

Leave a Reply

