Unraveled Wednesday.

Reading.

American WarHillbilly Elegy

Finishing American War by Omar El Akkad. I got distracted in the middle by having to quickly read Hillbilly Elegy for my book club (more on that in a minute), but I’m back to War again. I would recommend the El Akkad book to anyone, especially someone who enjoys speculative fiction. (I believe that is a category in Book Bingo, for those of you who engage in that endeavor.)

The wait list for Hillbilly Elegy at my library was too long — it was clear that I wouldn’t get the book in time for tonight’s book club meeting — so I bit the bullet and bought the Kindle version to read on my iPad. I started reading it last Thursday night and found it engrossing. Then, as happens occasionally, I could not go to sleep, so I picked up the iPad and read some more.

Rinse and repeat.

And again. (And again.)

I ended up reading the entire book in one night. Need I add that I recommend it to everyone? There is so much in there that rings true and also explains so much that I didn’t understand. There is a lot that is applicable here where I live in rural n.w. Wisconsin, where the soil is poor and the economic opportunities, e.g., the wage-to-raise-a-family jobs, are few. The hillbilly ethos is not confined to Appalachia, yo.

Knitting.

IMG_0470

IMG_0473

Boy, are some of those stitches cockeyed! Happily, that gets corrected by stretching the fabric both ways for a minutes. (Sorry, the emergency knitting bag is no longer available.)

I have relegated the doubleknit potholder to travel and meeting knitting. Doubleknit in fingering weight yarn on US#2 needles is s-l-ow. I am enjoying it, especially the design-as-I-go aspect, but it was delaying the move back to larger non-portable projects.

P1010289

Do not question the snow shovel. It is only late May.

The current non-portable project that is keeping me happy in the evenings is the mitered square blanket. Damn, but that is perfect TV knitting! Practically no thought required, and I only need to look at what I’m doing about once a minute. Garter stitch in worsted weight on US#7s FTW!

This entry was posted in Squares, Unraveled Wednesdays. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Unraveled Wednesday.

  1. Kat with a K says:

    Hillbilly Elegy is on my “read list” and I am in line at the library. However, the list is long but, your review has me pondering a purchase! And, I love that mitered blanket! It is beautiful!

  2. gayle says:

    Your mitered blanket lokks like perfect comfort knitting, and I’m a big fan of double knitting. (Just finished a scarf in double knitting with lettering that was a ton of fun!)
    I’ve added both your book recs to my reading list – thanks!

  3. ninlouise says:

    Thanks very much for the book recommendations. I am on such long wait lists for some things that I have usually forgotten them before they appear. Lately, I don’t even wonder. I just shrug and start reading. :)) Sometimes I am just amazed by my own forgotten good choices! Often enough, I think I have you to thank for some of the really interesting ones. Cheers!

  4. Kym says:

    Love your knitting!!! And I, too, thought Hillbilly Elegy was interesting and thought-provoking. I spend a lot of time Up North . . . which is pretty much Appalachia. The book certainly rings true based on my experience in northern, rural Michigan. Now. What to DO about it. . . (And I don’t think school “choice” is gonna cut it.) (Oh . . . don’t EVEN get me started.)

  5. KSD says:

    “The hillbilly ethos is not confined to Appalachia, yo.” Ah, but we Tennesseeans like to claim it as our own.

Leave a Reply

