Unraveled Wednesday #3.

 

So. I made a hat.

Well, not really a hat.

P1010324

It really looks like a hat, though, doesn’t it?

So. What it is, exactly?

It’s a stump cover.

M, wife of the guy, D, who does yard word and other miscellaneous chores around here — right now he is in the midst of sanding and priming and repainting our deck railing — is an amputee, having lost her left leg above the knee. When I met M in January she was wearing something like a really ugly support stocking on her stump over her pant leg. When I found out that it served no therapeutic purpose, I remarked that I could knit her something more attractive. She was game, so I did.

Tragically, I have no photographic record of that knitting project because I am lame.

A month or so later D told me that M wanted another one. The result is pictured above. The first one was darker gray with narrow stripes of various colors, inspired by these socks:

P1000866.jpg

I thought since she had liked that first one, I would make this one similar.

Knitting: it’s what I do.

 

* * * * *

Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 10.09.04 PM.pngI finished the first book of the Glasgow trilogy (right) and have started the second. But I may have to set that aside because I recently picked up the latest Lucas Davenport book from the library, and there are 89 holds on it when I return it. No way can I renew that book if I don’t finish it in time. Plus, when I read the first few pages I suspected that I had somehow missed the previous book, so I now have to read that one first. Even though I am a fast reader, especially of a really good mystery (which the Lucas Davenport books always are), I do not want to press my luck.

 

If you need me, I will be absorbed in these two books, one right after the other.

Edited to add: Kat!

This entry was posted in knitting, Unraveled Wednesdays. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Unraveled Wednesday #3.

  1. Kat with a K says:

    I am adding these books to my “read list” however, I don’t think I will get to them for a bit – when I checked my library the waiting list is almost as long as yours! So, perhaps winter reading!

  2. That stump cover is wonderful!!!!!!! I wonder if they need them at the VA? I could make some for my mom’s HOneys Hundred, as I think My original goal of 100 Twiddle mitts will not be realized. But 100 donations is possible!

  3. highlyreasonable says:

    How I wish that libraries’ budgets were large enough that 89 holds could trigger the purchase of a few more copies of the book. There are only 57 holds on Golden Prey here, but the library has 14 copies. I might have to give this popular series a try!

  4. KSD says:

    I’m so claustrophobic that the first photos had me near panic.

  5. gayle says:

    I was thinking that the Wisconsin winters must be getting colder…

    Are you doing the reading bingo? I’ve heard about it, but not participating, other than taking advantage of all the book titles being shared. 8)

Leave a Reply

