Unraveled Wednesday #4.

Joining Kat for Unraveled Wednesdays!

After deciding I had made enough dead baby buntings, I returned to the never-ending afghan knitting.

IMG_0546.JPG

You may not be able to tell, but it is one two! rows taller than they last time I showed it to you.

As for unraveling, that always happens somewhere in the knitting — a dropped stitch, a forgotten decrease. On a good day I can make two squares, maybe even three. It is getting harder to choose the color for the next non-whitish block because I have to spread the whole thing out on the floor to see what color I haven’t used recently. And it will keep getting harder as it grows; [only] six more rows to go. In the meantime, it keeps my lap and legs warm in our overly-air-conditioned house.

* * * * *

On the reading front, I finished both Lucas Davenport books, Extreme Prey and Golden Prey. Neither was up to the standard of the first 20+ in the series, imnsho. The problem for me is that the protagonist is no longer employed by either the Minneapolis PD or the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension; now he is a US Marshall who travels nationwide and is paired up with different officers. A big part of the attraction of the earlier books, besides the fact that they were set in territory familiar to me, was the cast of secondary characters with whom he had worked for years and who were all endearing in their own peculiar ways. The dialogue among them was pure genius and immensely entertaining, but those characters are no longer around. The criminals in these latest two books were not as interesting, either. Nary an intriguingly psychopathic genius among them, just ordinary criminals and misguided souls resorting to violence. I will probably continue to devour every Lucas Davenport and Virgil Flowers novel that Sandford writes, but I am not as big a fan as I used to be.

I gave up on the Glasgow Trilogy after The Necessary Death of Louis Winter and the first 50 pages of How a Gunman Says Good-Bye. No real fault of the books; it was just that I have such a tall stack of books from the library and these were not grabbingpearl thief.jpg me. Last night I picked up and discarded bothnorse mythology The Pearl Thief by Elizabeth Wein and Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman. The first turned out to be a YA book, and I always find them unsatisfying. I vowed to myself to give it a good try, but at about page 40 the YA nature came through and I was done. (When linking to it above I discovered that it is the prequel to Code Name Verity, which I listened to a year or two ago and enjoyed. Oh, well.) I adore Neil Gaiman, but I do not always enjoy his books; some, like American Gods, are just too obscure/demanding/literary for my escapist brain. Right away I realized that Norse Mythology was gonna be in the “too demanding” category, so into the TBRttL — To Be Returned to the Library — pile it went.

girl in green.jpgNext I started The Girl in Green by Derek Miller. It begins in 1991, shortly after the US has declared a victory in the first Iraq war. The writing is engaging and the characters interesting, so I plan to keep going. My book group meets tonight, and I finished the Kindle lab girledition of Lab Girl earlier last night in preparation. It was wonderful and so much more than I expected. The author and her lab assistant/co-conspirator/pseudo-quasi-brother are two people that made me LOL and appreciate their work and are folks that I would enjoy hanging out with. Smart, irreverent, crazy humorous, and dedicated — all qualities I admire. I highly recommend it. (Besides their off-the-wall repartee and many anecdotes of their field trips, there is a lot of interesting botany.)

Tragically, I did not get to read The Zookeeper’s Wife before it was due back at the library. Will need to request it again. So many books, so little time

This entry was posted in afghan, Books, knitting, Reading, Squares, Unraveled Wednesdays. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Unraveled Wednesday #4.

  1. Diane Nelson says:

    I share your evaluation of the latest Sanford offerings. It’s like he’s run out of new and interesting stories that grabbed you immediately. Sad but true

  2. Kat with a K says:

    I am listening to the Girl in Green! I like it, but not as much as I liked Norwegian by Night.

  3. mere2007 says:

    Yay for giving up on books that just don’t suit – life is way too short! I am a huge Neil Gaiman fan and actually loved American Gods (I listened). Have you read any of his short stories? I think they’re delightful and obviously – short!

  4. k says:

    The joy of library books – just give it back.
    I tried Gaiman’s Norse Mythology. Seemed like it needed illustrations.
    I haven’t gotten lost in a book for a while. Maybe that’s my problem.

  5. Love your blanket! I’ve been knitting a mitered square blanket out of left over sock yarns for what seems like years. Each time I think I’m already done, I decide it’s no where near big enough and add a few rows/columns.

  6. caffeinegirl says:

    I love your blanket. It has a calmness that sets it apart from some of the scrap-yarn blankets. I like those, too, but I appreciate the aesthetic of yours.
    I have Lab Girl on my shelf. Can’t wait to read it!

  7. I LOVE Your book reveiws. I am one to start and put a book down fast . Im a booksnob. I have my ZOO STORY book and I am headed to the porch to read after I finish my blog commenting. Im glad Im not the only one who drops stitches!

  8. gayle says:

    I have ambitions of knitting a miter square afghan someday. Though I’ve dtermined what’s slowing the start – apparently in order to have leftover yarn, you have to actually finish something first…
    Love your book reviews! You and I have tastes similar enough that I can confidently add your thumbs-ups to my reading list.

Leave a Reply

