Unraveled Wednesday #9.

Not a lot of unraveling this week, thank FSM. I packed away the worsted squares afghan in order to start some Christmas knitting. (I know. Crazy, right?) I generally do not do Christmas knitting, although for the past couple years I have spent December knitting for the warm clothing drive sponsored by Wisconsin Tourism.

This year, however, I find myself with a quasi-daughter-in-law, hereinafter referred to a QDIL and a couple quasi-grandchildren, QGD1 and QGD2. They are *quasi* because Elder Son and GirlFriend are not married, and they are not married because reasons. I emailed with QDIL last week to determine what QGC1 AND QGD2 might like, and she was most helpful.

QGD1 would love a pair of purple fingerless gloves.

IMG_0627.jpg

Purple fingerless gloves, check.

QGC2 would love a hat with Stitch of Lilo & Stitch on it. That sounds like an intarsia project to me. Here is the image I found of Stitch:

stitchcute

Anybody know of a good charting program? I know I could download knitting graph paper and chart the image manually, but whenever there is a choice between doing something with pencil and paper vs. doing it digitally, I go for the latter about 99% of the time.

My plan so far is to knit the hat in a neutral fingering weight so that the intarsia Stitch stands out. Yarn preference would be some blend that is not as warm as wool, since they live in New Mexico. After searching both Knit Picks and Webs, however, I have come to the conclusion that the only way I can get the right colors is to go with a major label 75/25 wool/nylon blend, at least for the intarsia. The rest of the hat could be non-wool. I just spent the better part of an hour trying to find machine washable fingering weight yarn in the right colors. It is possible, but not easy: I would have to buy an entire 200- or 400-yard skein of each color in order to get the few yards I need, therefore expensive, no one yarn is available in all the four colors so I would be mixing yarns, yada, yada.

Eventually a light bulb flashed on in my head: dye the yarn myself! The Rit Dye website has color samples for over 500 colors with recipes for each. Using the image above I found more-or-less exact matches for the purple ears and all three shades of blue. I already have about 500 yards of Knit Picks Stroll Bare Fingering so there is no need to buy more yarn. (Yay! You may remember I have been on a yarn fast for several years.)

Please feel free to chime in with your recommendations and comments. I am breaking new ground here for myself. (Not for the intarsia, though. Twenty-five years ago I knit Christmas stockings for the boys that each had an intarsia dancing bear wearing a checked waistcoat. As we all know, if you don’t know something is hard you just do it.)

On the reading front, I finished Beartown by Frederik Backmann last night. What a book! I cannot even describe how good it was. As I was reading I kept thinking to myself that the culture of the town seemed eerily similar to that of the Minnesota Iron Range. People are tough, don’t talk much about themselves; an insular culture that is hard to break into. Perhaps not coincidentally, hockey has always been a big sport on Da Range.

This entry was posted in Unraveled Wednesdays. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Unraveled Wednesday #9.

  1. Kat with a K says:

    I wish I had some sage (and super simple) knitting advice for charting (ditto dyeing, I got nothing..) However!!! You will be excited to hear that Backmann has a new book coming out this month (The Scandal) I have not started it yet, but I believe it is set in Beartown! 🙂

  2. Rhonda says:

    I have used this for intarsia. http://www.microrevolt.org/knitPro/ BTW, I’m moving back to Wisconsin soon, to Cottage Grove. Not close to you, I think.

  3. Deb in PA says:

    You might want to rethink dyeing just snippets. Once she sees the hat, mittens, scarves, sweaters will be next.

  4. Ohhh Tami shared a link for a charting website, but I can’t think what it was called! Sorry, that’s not much use is it

  5. Kym says:

    I am just about to begin Bear Town tonight! So excited to finally get it from the library. 🙂 Yikes. Your project looks ambitious to me!!! Enjoy! XO

  6. Nicole says:

    Ah, Intarsia. Not my favorite knitting technique… and as such, I have no suggestions on charting sites. Sorry.

  7. Ann in NJ says:

    I made a hat with kidneys on it for the March for Science (for a friend who’s a nephrologist). I made the chart on Stitch Fiddle and it was super easy and very easy to manipulate number of colors and gauge until I had what I wanted. Here’s the link. https://www.stitchfiddle.com/en

Leave a Reply

