The eclipse of 2017: one Kat’s™ experience.

I left home on Saturday afternoon for my eclipse adventure. First stop: Minneapolis, where I would spend the night and leave for southern Illinois on Sunday morning with Younger Son.

P1010578.jpg

The journey began — with music, of course…

P1010580.jpg

…which was soon followed by the current audiobook.

P1010581

Eclipse morning: coffee in the yard. Hostess at far left, her sister/my friend straight ahead. We were in rural Makanda (muh-CANN-duh, not muh-CAHN-duh; I was corrected any number of times), about ten miles south of Carbondale.

P1010583

Emmett the dog was a co-host.

P1010585

I thought I was taking a video of Emmett’s tail wagging at top speed, but I guess it was just a still photo. You will have to use your imaginations for the tail-wagging.

P1010582.jpg

The temperature on eclipse day was in the 90s with similar humidity. This pool was mighty inviting, so inviting that — not having brought a swim suit with me — I went in in my t-shirt and pants. And sat around for a couple hours afterward in my wet clothes feeling quite comfortable.

P1010591.jpg

Eclipse lunch cooked on the grill.

P1010597.jpg

“It’s started, hasn’t it?” YS is looking through the trees, not directly at the sun. Notice the wide selection of colanders on the edge of the pool, also at least one pair of eclipse glasses. The red cups were for the champagne with which we toasted the sun-eating dragon.

P1010593.jpg

Using the vegetable steamer for an indirect view.

P1010599.jpg

It is really difficult to get perfectly sharp images through a colander.

P1010611.jpg

The crescent sunbeams were fascinating.

P1010605.jpg

We all protected our eyes, unlike a certain bozo person in the White House.

P1010614.jpg

I wonder what the eclipse looked like from this plane? As the eclipse approached and then surpassed 50%, I felt like I was wearing sunglasses; the light was obviously bright sunlight coming from overhead, but it was darker than it should have been. 

P1010615.jpgI’m pretty sure this was totality. There were, of course, many warnings not to photograph the eclipse without special equipment. *They* said that even eclipse glasses were not enough to protect a camera lens. I took a chance during totality.

P1010619

Totality. My camera compensated for the darkness, making it look much lighter than it actually was. Makanda had two minutes forty seconds of totality, which I think was the longest in the US.

P1010620

Venus was visible.

I got to see the diamond ring effect both at the beginning and ending of totality, but my attempt to capture it digitally was a dismal failure. After totality, we all kinda lost interest in the sun-moon adventure and went into the air-conditioned house. Been there, seen that.

Younger Son and I left Makanda for my friend’s  place near Ironton, Missouri, where we spent Monday night.

P1010629.jpg

She has a cat, three dogs, a bunch of chickens, and two baby goats. It turns out that baby goars are like kittens: very curious, like to climb on everything, and want to follow the people wherever they go. “No goats in the house!” was heard repeatedly.

The entire trip was fabulous. Thank you, Beca, for generously allowing a couple of unknown Yankees join you for this event, and thank you, Debra, for inviting us to come join the party!

This entry was posted in Biking, Matthew, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The eclipse of 2017: one Kat’s™ experience.

  1. Chris says:

    Sounds like an amazing experience!

  2. Kat with a K says:

    I enjoy our partiality here in Pgh! And, I too was fascinated by the crescent shadows through the trees!

  3. Debra says:

    It was the bestest party ever, with all the bestest people. We will do it again in 7 years!

  4. Kym says:

    That is just awesome! How cool that you got to share it with your son, too! XO

  5. Nicole says:

    Sounds amazing! We had about 76% here, which was still more than enough to feel weird. Thanks for sharing — your pics are great!

  6. Victoria says:

    What a great adventure!! It was amazing even here in the land of partiality. 🙂

  7. =Tamar says:

    What a great trip! In SC where I joined my friends we had about 2:36 of totality. Thanks for the photos (I didn’t take any – no camera). It’s curious how totality looked different to the camera – I recall the corona looked much narrower in comparison to the blacked-out sun than it seems to be in your photo. I particularly liked the slight rainbow effect just at the beginning of the second wedding-ring, which warned us that it was coming.

  8. gayle says:

    Woohoo! Glad you had such a great time!
    I enjoyed watching the festivities online. The next one will basically go directly over my youngest daughter’s house, so we’re already planning the party!
    And oh, those baby goats!!!

  9. Um your recap was amazing! I loved seeing it through your photos! NOw I get the colander thing

  10. Pingback: New feature: foliage photo of the day. And an update. | kmkat & her kneedles

  11. Pingback: FFotD and In honor of my friend Debra’s retirement. | kmkat & her kneedles

Leave a Reply

